Dateline Extended for 2020 AHEAD Award Nominations

By AHEAD posted 12 days ago


It's Time to Place Your 2020 AHEAD Award Nominations!

The AHEAD Awards Committee requests your nominations for award recipients for 2020! Please take the time to recognize colleagues and students for their exceptional work and leadership in disability resources and their contributions to increasing access and inclusion in higher education.

This year the nomination process will occur electronically. Please review the description of the awards below and select the name of the award for which you would like to submit a nomination.

AHEAD member, partners or student award recipients will be recognized at the AHEAD 2020 Annual Conference. A plaque will be presented or mailed to each recipient as well as a congratulatory letter signed by the AHEAD President will be sent to the President of the campus or agency where the recipient is employed.

All nominations are due April 17, 2020 by 5pm MST.

Nominations are being accepted for the following AHEAD Awards:

Ronald E. Blosser Dedicated Service Award

The Ronald E. Blosser Dedicated Service Award is established to publicly honor individual members who have given extraordinarily outstanding and selfless dedication and service to the Association on Higher Education and Disability (AHEAD) and whose service to AHEAD has consistently been of the utmost quality. The award is the highest recognition of service to the Association and one of AHEAD’s two highest honors.

AHEAD Honor for Meritorious Contribution

The AHEAD Honor for Meritorious Contribution on behalf of individuals with disabilities is to publicly honor individuals and groups whose vision, values, efforts and/or accomplishments have led to significant advances in access for people with disabilities. Such benefits or advances may relate to postsecondary education; if so, that should be articulated in the nomination. Recognizing vision, values, extraordinary efforts and accomplishments, this award is one of AHEAD’s two most prestigious awards.

Duraese Hall Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion Award

The Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion Award recognizes an AHEAD member or group of members who have promoted diversity within our profession and/or the place of work of the candidate(s). This award honors the legacy of Duraese Hall, a member of AHEAD who worked to diversify our membership and created dedicated opportunities for inclusion. This award not only recognizes the promotion of diversity in our profession, but of inclusion- the practice of welcoming these unique perspectives and valuing their inherent worth. Individuals nominated must be members of AHEAD or at least one member of a group nominated must be an AHEAD member.

AHEAD Professional Recognition Award

The AHEAD Professional Recognition Award recognizes outstanding achievement and contributions to Disability Resources by an AHEAD member. Any AHEAD member who has implemented an innovative idea or project, conducted research, or demonstrated outstanding dedication to the field is eligible to be nominated for recognition. This award distinguishes those AHEAD members who go the extra mile to affect change that results in increased access, improved services or evolving views of disability on their campuses.

AHEAD Partner Recognition Award

The AHEAD Partner Recognition Award was created to recognize outstanding contributions by individuals and groups external to AHEAD membership. These individuals and groups act directly or indirectly to benefit campus programs for students with disabilities. The award may recognize leaders in government, professionals, groups of professionals, a campus department, a research initiative or business effort.

Student Recognition Award

The AHEAD Student Recognition Award was established to recognize outstanding effort by an undergraduate or graduate student in representing disability identity or community on campus or by increasing campus access through advocacy or involvement . AHEAD hopes not only to recognize but also to encourage students to become involved in the issues of physical, technological, attitudinal and programmatic accessibility as well as disability culture on their respective campuses.

All nominations are due April 17, 2020 by 5pm MST.

If you have any questions regarding the award nominations, please contact Amanda Kraus at