AHEAD Board of Directors

The Board of Directors sets AHEAD’s direction and provides oversight for all Association activities. The Board is composed of elected officers and a combination of elected and appointed Directors.

Female with dark shoulder-length hair smiling
AHEAD President
Assistant Vice President, Campus Life
The University of Arizona
Female, longer brown hair, wearing a black blazer and blue blouse
AHEAD Secretary
Northwestern University
2122 Sheridan Road, Suite 130
Evanston, IL
female with short hair is smiling and wearing glasses, a dark jacket with hear arms crossed Karen Andrews
AHEAD Director at Large
University of California, Irvine
100 Disability Services
Bldg 313
Irvine, CA 92697
Enjie Hall Enjie Hall
AHEAD Director at Large
The University of Toledo
A white, Italian woman, sitting at a desk. She has brown long hair, wears glasses, has a pink colored shirt on and is in her forties. Maria Schiano
AHEAD Director at Large
County College of Morris
214 Center Grove Road
Randolph, NJ
Black female, smiling, with long gray and black hair, wearing glasses and a black jacket
AHEAD President-Elect
University of North Texas
Director, Office of Disability Accommodation
Sage Hall Suite 167
Denton, TX 76203
A smiling, white woman in her 50s with short gray hair and glassesMelanie Thornton
AHEAD Treasurer
University of Arkansas - Partners for Inclusive Communities
PO Box 194
Roland, AR
smiling white female with graying, shoulder-length hair, wearing chunky glasses and a black, leather jacketTammy Berberi
AHEAD Director at Large
University Of Minnesota- Morris
Division of Humanities
Morris, MN
Crystal Hill Crystal Hill
AHEAD Director at Large
Director of Disability Services for Students
Texas Woman's University 
Denton, Texas 76204
a smiling white male, 30s, in a blue suit and with a lavender tie, close cut, brown albeit balding, hair and neatly trimmed facial hair.Allen Sheffield
AHEAD Director at Large
University of Michigan
G-664 Haven Hall
505 South State St

Ann Arbor, MI 48109
A 35-year-old black male with short black hair wearing glasses, a red and black bow tie, a white shirt with tiny white dots, and a grayish black sport coat with a black pocket square. Zebadiah Hall
AHEAD Equity Officer
Cornell University
110 Ho Plaza
Cornell Health, Level 5
Ithaca, NY
a first-generation Nigerian American woman wearing a maroon business professional blazer and a cream and black tie-neck blouse.Chinwendu Okoronkwo Burns
AHEAD Director at Large
University of Arkansas
1 University of Arkansas ARKU 209
Fayetteville, AR
Chester GoadChester Goad
AHEAD Director at Large
Tennessee Technological University

Director, Accessible Education Center

Stephan J. Smith
AHEAD Executive Director (ex-officio)
8015 West Kenton Circle, Suite 230
Huntersville, NC 28078

Past AHEAD Presidents

Past-President Affiliation During Presidency Term
Kristie Orr   Texas A&M University 2018-2020
Jamie Axelrod   Northern Arizona University 2016-2018
Bea Awoniyi   Santa Fe College 2014-2016
Scott Lissner   Ohio State University 2012-2014
Jean Ashmore   AHEAD 2010-2012
Mike Shuttic   Oklahoma State University 2008-2010
Carol Funckes   University of Arizona 2006-2008
Jim Kessler   UNC at Chapel Hill 2004-2006
Grady Landrum   Wichita State University 2003-2004
Randy Borst   University of Buffalo, SUNY 2002-2003
Sam Goodin   University of Michigan 2001-2002
Trey Duffy   University of Wisconsin 2000-2001
Sue Kroeger   University of Arizona 1999-2000
Ward Newmeyer   University of California, Berkeley 1998-1999
Carol DeSouza   University of Massachusetts, Boston 1997-1998
Bruce Pomeroy   Broome Community College 1996-1997
Diane Perreira   University of Arizona 1995-1996
Loring Brinckerhoff     Boston University 1994-1995
Ann Yurcisin University of North Dakota 1993-1994
Wayne Cocchi Columbus State Community College 1992-1993
Brenda Brown University of New Orleans 1991-1992
Bill Scales University of Maryland 1990-1991
John Timcak University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point     1989-1990
Marge Fordyce Mott Community College 1988-1989
Warren King Ohio State University 1987-1988
Pat Pierce Vanderbilt University 1986-1987
Richard Harris Ball State University 1985-1986
Catherine Campisi San Diego Community College District 1984-1985
Alfred DeGraff Boston University 1983-1984
Sharon Bonney University of California, Berkeley 1982-1983
Richard Harris Ball State University 1981-1982
Jan Huss Iowa State University 1980-1981
Ron Gibbens University of North Dakota 1978-1979
Gwen Callas-Miller Kent State University 1977-1978