Board of Directors

The Board of Directors sets AHEAD’s direction and provides oversight for all Association activities. The Board is composed of elected officers and a combination of elected and appointed Directors.

Kristie Orr
AHEAD President
Texas A&M University
Department of Disability Services Cain Hall, Room B118
College Station, TX 77843
Amanda Kraus
AHEAD President-Elect
Assistant Vice President, Campus Life
The University of Arizona
Chris StoneChristopher Stone
AHEAD Director at Large
Washington University in St. Louis

Director, Disability Resources

Katy Washington
AHEAD Secretary
University of North Texas
Director, Office of Disability Accommodation
Sage Hall Suite 167
Denton, TX 76203
Karen Andrews Karen Andrews
AHEAD Director at Large
University of California, Irvine
100 Disability Services
Bldg 313
Irvine, CA 92697
Enjie Hall Enjie Hall
AHEAD Director at Large
The University of Toledo
Gaeir Dietrich
AHEAD Treasurer
Access Specialist
124 Trevethan Avenue
Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Crystal Hill Crystal Hill
AHEAD Director at Large
Director of Disability Services for Students
Texas Woman's University 
Denton, Texas 76204
Donna Johnson
AHEAD Director at Large
University of Minnesota - Twin Cities
Disability Resource Center
170 McNamara Center
200 Oak Street SE
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Linda Nissenbaum
AHEAD Director at Large
Darshan Shah
AHEAD Director at Large
Fairleigh Dickinson University
285 Madison Ave.
Madison, NJ 07940
Stephan J. Smith
AHEAD Executive Director
8015 West Kenton Circle, Suite 230
Huntersville, NC 28078
Adam Crawford
AHEAD Director at Large
The Ohio State University
Office of Student Life’s Disability Services
098 Baker Hall / 113 W. 12th Ave
Columbus, OH 43210
Elisa Laird-Metke, JD Elisa Laird-Metke
AHEAD Director at Large
Samuel Merritt University
Director, Disability Resource Center
3100 Telegraph Avenue, Suite 1000
Oakland, CA 94609
Jen Dugger
Acting Equity Officer from Director-at-large
Portland State University
Disability Resource Center
DRC, PO Box 751,
Portland, OR 97207
Michelle Rigler
AHEAD Director at Large
The University of Tennessee Chattanooga
108-A University Center, Dept 2953
Chattanooga, TN 37403

Past AHEAD Presidents

Past-President Affiliation During Presidency Term
Jamie Axelrod   Northern Arizona University 2016-2018
Bea Awoniyi   Santa Fe College 2014-2016
Scott Lissner   Ohio State University 2012-2014
Jean Ashmore   AHEAD 2010-2012
Mike Shuttic   Oklahoma State University 2008-2010
Carol Funckes   University of Arizona 2006-2008
Jim Kessler   UNC at Chapel Hill 2004-2006
Grady Landrum   Wichita State University 2003-2004
Randy Borst   University of Buffalo, SUNY 2002-2003
Sam Goodin   University of Michigan 2001-2002
Trey Duffy   University of Wisconsin 2000-2001
Sue Kroeger   University of Arizona 1999-2000
Ward Newmeyer   University of California, Berkeley 1998-1999
Carol DeSouza   University of Massachusetts, Boston 1997-1998
Bruce Pomeroy   Broome Community College 1996-1997
Diane Perreira   University of Arizona 1995-1996
Loring Brinckerhoff     Boston University 1994-1995
Ann Yurcisin University of North Dakota 1993-1994
Wayne Cocchi Columbus State Community College 1992-1993
Brenda Brown University of New Orleans 1991-1992
Bill Scales University of Maryland 1990-1991
John Timcak University of Wisconsin, Stevens Point     1989-1990
Marge Fordyce Mott Community College 1988-1989
Warren King Ohio State University 1987-1988
Pat Pierce Vanderbilt University 1986-1987
Richard Harris Ball State University 1985-1986
Catherine Campisi San Diego Community College District 1984-1985
Alfred DeGraff Boston University 1983-1984
Sharon Bonney University of California, Berkeley 1982-1983
Richard Harris Ball State University 1981-1982
Jan Huss Iowa State University 1980-1981
Ron Gibbens University of North Dakota 1978-1979
Gwen Callas-Miller Kent State University 1977-1978